Anybody working part time and college full time? - Sybermoms Parenting Forum
Syber Students Support for Moms in school.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 03:58 PM
IWantToBelieve
Ambulance Chaser
 
Posts: n/a
Anybody working part time and college full time?

To pay for daycare I got a part-time job at Penney's. I'm looking at 15-20 hours a week, plus 15 credit hours of college. I'm worried about managing. I've got the four boys but the oldest three are pretty good at doing homework independently now. So the main worry is juggling the household tasks, school and the boys and I have tae kwon do two nights a week (though I might have to drop for me if things get to rough).

Anyone who has done this, any tips would be appreciated! I've never had the work added in so this will be a real challenge.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-2004, 08:39 PM
PalmTree
Ambulance Chaser
 
Posts: n/a
Im working part time and going to school part time. This year will be going to evening classes 3 nights a week and i work 3 days a week.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 03:58 PM
Ambulance Chaser
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,422
 
No but I'm dropping my hours to PT in August and will be taking classes PT again in an attempt to finally get my Master's. It's hard but it'll all be worth it for you some day!
Likin is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2004, 12:11 PM
MoreCowbell
Ambulance Chaser
 
Posts: n/a
Click here to enlarge I'll be in the same boat at the end of August too. My kids are 7 & 4....Im nervous, and have NO idea how its going to work out.
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2004, 03:09 PM
Registered User
Unsupportive Freeloader
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,778
 
I go to school full time but I work full time as well. I take normally between 15 and 23 credit hours depending on the classes that I need availability. I also work 40 + hours. What seems to work for me is I go to school two days a week. I go pretty much all day. My last class normally ends around 8-9 at night. For work I generally 2 doubles (8 am - 11:30 pm) then I work two single days (either 8 am - 4 pm or 4 pm - 11:30 pm) My mother watches DS until DH gets off work. Then I have a day for me and DS. Although now that he is older I have been taking my classes earlier in the morning and some online so that I don't have to be there the whole day those two days. Which makes more time for DS
Lizard is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sybermoms Parenting Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Do NOT use an AOL email address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indoor pets and working full time AlrightyThen Double Duty Divas 14 07-21-2006 06:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome